Why you should enter the Frontier Awards

Winning a Frontier Award is the highest recognition you can get within the GTR industry.

For more than three decades the awards have celebrated and honoured the best of innovation and creativity within travel retail. Winners are chosen by a panel of judges hand-picked from the most experienced and knowledgeable names in the industry. 

Winning one of these prizes, on a night which is fondly known as the “Oscars” of the travel retail industry, can mean a huge amount for a company’s profile and is a major personal boost to all involved.

But don’t just take our word for it, here is what previous winners have to say.

“[The Frontier Awards] is the opportunity once a year to get together and recognise the industry for what it’s good at.” TFWA president Erik Juul-Mortensen (Outstanding Contribution to the Industry winner 2016)

“It means a lot because the Frontier Awards is really, I think, the best awards in the industry.” Lagardère Travel Retail executive vice president of marketing and digital Stephanie Metz Thevenod Lagardere (Partnership Initiative of the Year winner 2016)

“We feel honoured, working 30 years within this industry and getting this kind of award.” Gebr Heinemann owners Claus and Gunnar Heinemann (Lifetime Achievement Award winners 2017)

“The Frontier Awards, which marked their 33rd year, are hailed as the ‘Oscars’ of the industry.” Dubai Duty Free vice-chairman and CEO Colm McLoughlin (eight time Airport Retailer of the Year Award winner)

“It’s a great evening, a great group of people a fantastic publication and a job well done.” Crystal Head Vodka vice-president of the Caribbean, Latin America and global travel retail Brian Capet Cyrstal Head (Buyers’ Forum Gold Award winner 2015 & 2017)

“To win this award, this prestigious award, I think it’s the biggest prize we can win,” KLM retail buyer inflight retail and media Frank Hoogma (Inflight Retailer of the Year 2015)

“It is a fantastic honour to be given this award by my peer group, by Frontier Magazine, which is the longest-running duty free and travel retail magazine. It’s always nice to be recognised by one’s peers.” Moodie Davitt Report founder and chairman Martin Moodie (Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Award 2017)

What will the judges look for?

The judges will look through all the electronic submissions and will score entries on the following:

  • Innovation and originality
  • Creative concept and execution
  • Business acumen and results
  • Perceived effectiveness in meeting the marketing/sales objectives and communicating with the target group (and also with the judges)

When will the entries be judged? 

Judging will take place in July 2018 and soon after a shortlist of the nominees will be published. Please note that the winners will not be revealed until the awards ceremony taking place in Cannes on Wednesday 3 October, 2018.

Entries Deadline